I’m Tired of Hearing “The Gospel”

I’m Tired of Hearing “The Gospel”

I stumbled across this yesterday and my eye was caught by the title..turns out it is a pretty decent read too.

What do you think?

One thought on “I’m Tired of Hearing “The Gospel”

  1. This comment under the post is a good one.

    “Yeah but in trying to “reinforce a gospel consciousness,” could it be that both the speaker and the hearer end up losing the actual good news?

    Over the last year or so, I’ve taken to pressing some folks a bit beyond the cliches. When some people tell me to “apply the gospel to that” or “well, God is sovereign,” I might just ask them how they think the gospel applies to my situation specifically. And if they struggle to answer, I might even ask them what the gospel is. Generally, they can answer that. So then I’ll as them again what about the gospel they want me to be reminded of in the given situation….

    Who knows, maybe the gospel will become real good news to us and not just another word that shows we are cozy with the evangelical in group.”

    That’s kind of where I find I’m at here at dBay. Get past the cliche’s and to the meat of what the Gospel is!

Leave a Reply

