Beware: The Barreness Of A Busy Life

If you’re the kind of person who has your calendar booked out two months in advance and can’t even squeeze in a few minutes for a phone call this week, maybe you can relate..

We max out our calendars with so many things. We try and please everyone. 

Oh..I wasn’t really that busy anyway.
I don’t feel that tired..
It’s only half an hour!
But I haven’t seen them in months!
..Our friendship is hanging on this.
They really need me right now.
I just couldn’t say no.

But at the end of a day and after all those coffee dates, you probably will realise that pleasing everyone is a really difficult task. In fact, you probably feel like you’re failing big time, right? Are you so tired that you can’t even sleep anymore? Can you not sit down for five minutes without an overwhelming feeling that you’re running of out time? Are you trying so hard to earn an income, do your groceries, cook meals, replace your broken shoes, exercise, wash your clothes (and hang them out), have people visit your home, go out for coffee, text friends you haven’t seen in a while, call your mother, read your bible,  care for your kids, spend real time with your spouse..that your head feels like it might explode any day now? Oh and did I mention I’m on church cleaning this weekend?

We work so hard to please and life moves so darn fast. Maybe you’ve found yourself slipping a little..and expecting some people to just understand.

I’m sorry but I’ve double booked.
I’m just so tired.
Can I call you next week to reschedule?
I really want to catch up..it’s been so long!
It’s ok..I’ve known them for ages..they’ll be fine.
I just need some time on my own.
I just need..I just, I just…I can’t even think anymore!

Unfortunately the people we seem to be ok compromising  with tend to be the ones in our own homes. 

Enough is enough! But when?

I don’t want the next 2 years to fly by. I don’t want it to go so fast that I don’t remember any of it. Sometimes, I feel that I’m in way over my head – like my own quest to say ‘YES’ is going to end up crippling me instead.

In your efforts to be everything to everyone, are you losing your compassion, patience and love for those closest to you? Do you expect them to understand and accept things they just shouldn’t have to? I’m not going to try and tell you how to fix it all. I’m not going to give you some secret formula which will add an extra hour to your day. I might just finish with this:

What does it profit a man to gain the whole world and forfeit his soul? What can a man give in return for his soul? – Mark 8 vs 36-37

Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect. – Romans 12 vs 2

God, teach me to number my days..that you may give me a heart of wisdom.
Leave a Reply

